OUR HUSBAND HAS GONE MAD AGAIN

Hello Readers! Two reviews in one week right?! You are thinking I must be on some reading spell! But, don’t conclude just yet. This review was written by my little sister  who “rolling my eyes” forgot that she’s an administrator of this blog and should not only have its interest in mind but as a reader herself should have submitted a review like months ago. Anyway, It seems she’s back from her hiatus and has decided to bless us with a short review of Ola Rotimi’s “Our Husband has gone mad again”. So here it is !

OUR HUSBAND HAS GONE MAD AGAIN BY OLA ROTIMI

Ok everyone, this is the procrastinator speaking. I know. I can’t believe it either. I know I am one now because I watched a TED talk on the attributes of a procastinator and it clearly highlighted what I sometimes do. Kemibon can no longer harass me on my procrastination in writing this piece. While I embrace my (sometimes) procrastinating self, I must tell you that you may not get any more reviews from me in the next two or three months so please accept this as an expensive piece of diamond you acquired.

Since my guardian angel, the panic monster has awoken, this is my special review of Ola Rotimi’s Our Husband Has Gone Mad Again.

Our Husband has gone mad again by Ola Rotimi is a farce. The tone in which it was written was original in the sense that it conveyed the Nigerian style of thoughts and deeds. Ola Rotimi made us believe that an unwise and educated man, Lejoka Brown had two wives, Mama Rashida and Sikira out of circumstance and one wife, Liza because of “oyinbo” love (no offense intended to anyone). Also the great writer made us understand that Lejoka Brown believed he understood the politics of his community. This proves wrong when Lejoka Brown gets kicked out of his political party and his wife Sikira becomes the force of the same party.

The most interesting character to me was Liza. She was a liberal woman who tried to carry out all her activities strategically to influence her environment the way she wanted it to be influenced.

On her arrival at Lejoka Brown’s house, she literally turned Sikira to her personal maid. The funniest moment was when Lejoka Brown was on his way home and Sikira had been encouraged and brain washed by Liza to believe that all men and women should be equal in their community so that she sang the song of parity at the top of her voice. Okonkwo and Lejoka Brown on hearing her began to believe one of the wives had gone mad.

Liza’s love story with Lejoka Brown is one that could inspire some of us to continue to seek out the overrated yet exalted four letter word, LOVE. But things went out of control when she saw that Lejoka Brown did not count her as a useful asset to his household so she made plans to return to America. Lejoka Brown loved her but did not believe in love so, he ignored Mama Rashida’s warning to stop her from leaving him.

The military songs at the beginning of the book made me go down memory lane to my primary school days when I used to sing those marching songs of praise.

The book was pleasing to me and I felt urged to sing about gender equality and justice for both genders with Sikira as it is a basic right missing in the Nigerian society today, I also had to remember I was just engaged by the metaphors of the book. I wish you well as you read the book. Cheers.

Abiola Bonuola

Leave a Reply

