JENNY TOMLIN’S “SWEETIE”

SWEETIE-JENNY TOMLIN

I picked this book partly because of the title but more for the haunting look in the eyes of the little girl on the paper back cover. I wouldn’t say I am a lover of thrillers. In fact I am not. I am more interested in reading the romantic stories. You know those ones that make you feel like being in love is the most perfect thing in the whole wide world? Yes.

“Sweetie” didn’t dish out romance neither did it pretend to be about love. This story was tragic. It was heart wrenching and  tragic. It was equally painful to read. I’ll tell you why. Jenny Tomlin wrote about a perverse serial rapist and killer. A man who lived in the neighbourhood yet attacked the little children male and female raped them violently and sometimes killed them. Her vivid descriptions of each attack shook me and got me whimpering almost out loud.

The setting of the story is London, the year is 1976, and the weather is hot and oppressive. The language of the story is raw and unapologetic. The story is boldly written and ends with jungle justice. Meted out by the women whose children have been molested, killed and damaged and supported by women who decided that it isn’t worth it waiting for justice to catch up with the unfriendly neighbour.

What did I like about this story? The strength exhibited by the women and the silent resolve to protect their children bounced off the pages for me. The suspense was also well infused into the story. The writer pushes other characters in to confuse the reader as to the real killer.

To end this review I will just say that the power of a woman’s intuition should not be ignored. The main character Grace Ballantyne knew the killer when she looked into his eyes. She just knew. When she relayed her experience to the other women she said this:

“I was walking out of the church with John and I saw George sitting in the last pew at the back of the church. He had this awful leer on his face…a look I’ve seen before, believe me. I don’t know, I can’t explain, but I felt it in my body then…it shot right through me. I felt sick and shaky, and I just knew”.

The writer then goes on to say “…they didn’t need convincing about the power of intuition, as women they relied on it…”

All together this was a decent read but it isn’t the type of book I would read again because I am soft at heart and I cannot go through the pain of reading about the terrible things the killer did to those innocent children!

What do you think about the power of intuition? Do you rely on it? I know I do!

KEMIBON

 

Leave a Reply

