ANNE OF GREEN GABLES BY L.M MONTGOMERY

Hello Readers,

It’s Kemi Bonuola.

I finally got round to doing this review of a great children’s classic, although you will soon find that I got someone to do it instead.

Anne of Green Gables is a 1908 novel by Canadian author Lucy Maud Montgomery (published as L.M. Montgomery).  I never came across this book as a child I really wish I had. My delight and sheer joy when reading the book cannot be easily described. I found myself chuckling at some really funny adventures Anne got into and before I finished the book I was already in love with Anne and her vibrant and  funny imagination. From my adult eyes, I enjoyed the wit and humor exhibited by the writer. Believe me when I say the book is timeless and can be enjoyed by both young and old.

anne-1

Now, to my confession-I happened to borrow one of my nieces the book seeing as the main character reminded me so much of her. Then I thought it would be fantastic to have a review from a child. Although she wasn’t  sure how a review is meant to be written, I took pains to explain to her and even drafted out some guiding questions such as : what did you like about the book? Who was your favorite character? Why did you like that character? What surprised you the most about the book? Would you recommend this story book for other children your age? What was the story about in summary?

anne-5

My niece Mofoluwasewa Wabara wrote:

The fact that Anne is not afraid to share her story, mistakes and corrections, I mean I wouldn’t be able to bear the embarrassment.

Of course Anne spelled with an “e” is my favorite character.  The way that she’s bold impresses and inspires me.

I was astonished that a child even 3 years older than me could make so many mistakes.

I am sure children would love Anne of Green Gables.

It’s how Mathew Cuthbert and his sister Marilla planned to adopt a boy but things don’t turn out as they planned it to be. For starters there had been a mistake between the 11 or 12 year old boy, instead they brought Anne, a 12 year old orphan who with imagination and speech brings happiness to Green Gables.

anne-3

Mofoluwasewa Wabara

Have you read Anne of Green Gables? Do you have any favorite lines? I know I do!

Leave a Reply

