VANISHING ACTS BY JODI PICOULT

I must confess to the fact that my consistency at doing things is below average. I am the type of person who likes to whip up a project, get very excited about it and even commit to it for a while. Alas, my excitement and commitment usually fades out after a while sometimes it takes weeks, sometimes it takes years. I guess the point I am trying to make is I need this blog to be able to say to myself that I can commit to something. Of course, it helps that I love reading. I was happy to find out that I have been blogging for a year! Whoop, Whoop! Thank you for following and reading and staying committed to my blog. So today as I bring you this short review of Vanishing Acts I re-commit to my decision to keep this blog alive but more importantly to continue to task myself in the art of writing.

vanishing-acts

My first encounter with Jodi Picoult was in 2013 when I saw the movie “My Sister’s Keeper”. I was so touched by the incredibly painful story that when I came across “The Pact” and “Plain Truth” I didn’t waste any time before reading them. So far the author has delivered very interesting, heart moving and memorable stories every time but Vanishing Acts wasn’t as powerful as the other books I have read though still a very good read.

The story is unique and it begins in a way that one wouldn’t have a clue that there would be a twist to the otherwise perfect beginning. It’s a story about a woman Delia Hopkins who was kidnapped by her father at a tender age. As the story unfolds we get to know that Delia has a four year old child with her fiancee Eric who’s an alcoholic trying to stay sober. The author conveniently places Eric as a lawyer so he gets to take the case when Delia’s father is arrested. My best character in the story is Fitz the third wheel the one who loves Delia but cannot have her even though he has been around just as long as Eric.

The beauty of the story is the way the author uses alternating voices in her narration so every main character has a voice. Delia’s father Andrew is an interesting character, very flawed but consistent in his love for his daughter. The ending was quite predictable with Andrew getting acquitted and Delia leaving Eric but at the end of the book (which I didn’t race through the way I did her other books) I was satisfied with the outcome.

Some life lessons came strongly to me from the book such as right and wrong do not have absolutes and things cannot always be seen in black or white. Like other Jodi Picoult books that I have read this book keeps the mind thinking and let’s one ponder on the lengths one would go to in protecting a loved one.

 

bad

 

If I were Andrew I would have taken Delia too! If you haven’t read the book I say go and get a copy. I am sure you want to know what would possess a father to kidnap his own daughter?!

On a scale of  1-10 the book scores a 7 for me.

Your thoughts? Leave your comments below.

Kemibon

 

Leave a Reply

