I CAN’T FAULT THE FAULT IN OUR STARS

Oh John Green! What a painfully sweet love story you conjured!

the_fault_in_our_stars-1

 

I have always wondered how writers create the stories that reach out of the pages of a book to leave an indelible mark in the mind and heart of a reader.I mean who thinks up such heart warming lines like:

fault-2 You don’t get a better description of falling in love than that my friend!

Some stories leave you pondering on the inner workings of the universe and some just walk on by after the initial excitement, John Green gave me something beautiful in The Fault in Our Stars-a love so pure, young but mature, sweet but incredibly short. It could have been a very simple love story sick girl meets sick boy, they fall in love, the end and perhaps it was that simple but for me what I perceived was a twist in the plot. The moment of realization that though you are both cancer patients the one who appears to be optimistic and in remission is the one who actually dies first. The very imminent fear of death hovering over the two lovers made the love more urgent (necessary) and very present. They lived and loved for the moment and that’s the lesson I take away from the story. Love while you can and love hard.

fault-6

I saw the movie adaptation of The Fault in Our Stars last year and I must say it was a lovely experience so much so that when I read the 89 pages of the book in three days (1st January-3rd January) I imagined the characters to be those in the movie and weren’t they the cutest?

the-one-detail-you-missed-in-the-fault-in-our-sta-2-30231-1403101273-0_dblbig

 

I did enjoy the book more than I did the movie as has been my experience with novels and their screen adaptations but to my surprise the book wasn’t too different from the movie. Yes some scenes were cut out entirely and some completely different from how it happened in the book but the essence of the story was intact. As a matter of fact the conversations between Hazel Grace and Augustus Waters were straight out of the book for most parts. I must say that really gladdened my heart.

fault-4

It was easy to fall in love with the main characters especially Hazel Grace the one who lived to tell the tale…

fault-5

The ease with which they fell into conversation and spoke so intelligently and philosophically (which really appeals to me as a person) made it an excellent read and when you throw in the humor and the grace with which they fell in love you can applaud the writer for writing a story about two terminally ill teenagers without making the story feel too weepy. Don’t get me wrong I did feel very sad but I was able to look beyond the tragic end and sight the genuine joy in finding that person that gets you, makes you smile and loves you completely even though pain and grief eventually took over.

fault-3

I think the writer was able to capture singularly the sincerity of each character’s feelings from Hazel to Augustus to Issac. Even the parents and siblings and the bad tempered Van Houten were not left out. I won’t say much about Van Houten just that he was a man whose heart had been gouged out by grief and he chose to lash out instead of seeking love and healing. Somehow in the very short but profound narration of this lover’s (Hazel) tale, John Green delivers a rich dish that leaves a poignant taste in the readers mouth for many days after…and isn’t that what we desire from stories?

Kemibon

One thought on “I CAN’T FAULT THE FAULT IN OUR STARS

Leave a Reply

